Support BACHorgan.com! Shop our affiliates!
Sheet Music PlusFeatured Sale

Weekly Rampage Archives

Search for Keyword:  in Rampages 


Home Page

December 29, 2003
Vol. III, No. 37


"Christmas Wrap-up"
Yesterday was the last day of Christmas for me as an organist. I start playing Christmas music on the first Sunday after Thanksgiving and I don't let up until the Sunday after Christmas. November may seem a bit early for "O Little Town of Bethlehem" but how else can you squeeze in all the different carols, not to mention the multitude of arrangements for each, plus repeat a few select favorites? A ten-minute prelude only allows for 3-4 Christmas carols; the collection permits another. I still play two postludes during the holidays so another carol squeaks in as the first postlude. No, too early is definitely better than too late. Besides, it's all relative. My schedule IS late compared to the retail celebration. Anyone for "Jingle Bells" on the day after Halloween? Boo!

I hope you all enjoyed your holidays. For those who expressed interest in my Christmas concert, I am writing up the program in the form of a workshop that I'll send out in a day or two. With that, I'll be finished with Christmas for another year. What's next? In the spirit of the retail season, time to start thinking about St. Valentine's Day!
Click this link to read comments and offer your own:
http://www.BACHorgan.com/Feedback.asp

Updated Pages
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Articles Library:
Added is "Churches Find 'Purpose' With Book's Help." "This fall, in churches throughout America, worshippers are hitting the books to search for answers to the question: 'What on Earth am I here for?' But it's not the book you might think of. Last month, over 4,000 churches began a 40-day campaign to explore the ideas about faith and the meaning of life presented in Rick Warren's bestseller, 'The Purpose-Driven Life: What on Earth Am I Here for?'" (Fox News) Click link below for more.
http://www.BACHorgan.com/Articles.asp

Book Store:
Added is the book referred to in the article above, "The Purpose-Driven Life: What on Earth Am I Here for?" "Rick Warren helps readers to discover, develop, and fulfill God's purpose for their lives. The Purpose-Driven™ Life is a blueprint for Christian living in the 21st century--a lifestyle based on God's eternal purposes, not cultural values. Using over 1,200 scriptural quotes and references, it challenges the conventional definitions of worship, fellowship, discipleship, ministry, and evangelism. In the tradition of Oswald Chambers, Rick Warren offers distilled wisdom on the essence of what life is all about. This is a book of hope and challenge that you will read and re-read, and it will be a classic treasured by generations to come." (Amazon.com) Click link below for more.
http://www.BACHorgan.com/BookStore.html

---------------------------------------
WHAT I'M READING..."Johann Sebastian Bach: The Learned Musician" by Christoph Wolff -- As if I wasn't feeling completely inferior as a musician after reading Conroy's "Body and Soul," now I'm really in for it. But like a moth to a flame, I can't get enough of ole J.S. By the way, I've started collecting my reading choices into Dan's Book Club. Who needs Oprah! Click the link below:
http://www.BACHorgan.com/DansBookClub.html
---------------------------------------

Have a great New Year!

Dan Long
Editor, BACHorgan.com


Have an Opinion on this Topic?
If you would like to share your opinion or see what others have to say, please click here.

Weekly Rampage Archives: Click here for Back Issues.